Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

Fire and Fury for the Tobacco Girls

ebook
Catch up on Lizzie Lane's gritty, historical saga series set in Bristol's Tobacco factories...

As war rages, everyone has to do their bit...

Bristol. 1941

As the clouds of war grow bleaker both at home and abroad, the Tobacco Girls are determined to do their bit for King and Country. To that end Maisie Miles and Bridget Milligan become voluntary ambulance drivers.

As well as coping with the frequent air raids, Maisie is kept on her toes with three new junior employees one of whom is particularly testing.

Bridget's heart becomes torn between family loyalty and American tobacco tycoon Lyndon O'Neill III, the man she loves.

Meanwhile Phyllis Harvey has joined the WAAF, opting to serve overseas whilst trying to escape her past. Her letters home are upbeat and her friends are initially envious of descriptions of sunshine and blue sea. The truth she hides is that life on the island of Malta is fraught with extreme food shortages, daily air raids and the fear that tomorrow might never come.

The future appears far less certain as the reality of war bites into The Tobacco Girls' lives.

An atmospheric historical saga following the lives and loves of those who work in Bristol's famous Tobacco Factory.

Perfect for fans of Rosie Clarke, Fenella J Miller and Tracy Baines.

Have you tried Lizzie Lane's other series – Coronation Close and the Orchard Cottage Hospital – you'll just love them!

What readers are saying about The Tobacco Factory series:

'Brilliant series. Oh my, the story of The Tobacco Girls gets better with each book.'- Reader Review

'A gripping saga and a storyline that will keep you hooked' - Rosie Goodwin

'Another brilliant story, as usual You can really get into all the individual characters. I love historical WW2 stories.' - Reader Review

'Great read. Yes another start to a great read and so pleased it's the first of the next few, Got them all waiting and ready' - Reader Review

'The Tobacco Girls is another heartwarming tale of love and friendship and a must-read for all saga fans.' - Jean Fullerton

'Really interesting facts, and great characters already. can't wait for the next book in the series. would highly reccomend this book.' - Reader Review

'Lizzie Lane opens the door to a past of factory girls, redolent with life-affirming friendship, drama, and choices that are as relevant today as they were then.' - Catrin Collier

'Thoroughly enjoyed the first book and cant wait to read how the 3 girls got on during and after the war. I really felt as if I lived in that era as the book had drawn me right in.' - Reader Review

'If you want an exciting, authentic historical saga then look no further than Lizzie Lane.' - Fenella J Miller

' A real page turner. This is an intriguing start to a new series. The characters are fully rounded and we are drawn into the darker side of life in Bristol during the first world war.' - Reader Review


Expand title description text
Series: The Tobacco Girls Publisher: Boldwood Books

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9781800485099
  • Release date: September 28, 2021

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9781800485099
  • File size: 488 KB
  • Release date: September 28, 2021

Formats

OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

Languages

English

Catch up on Lizzie Lane's gritty, historical saga series set in Bristol's Tobacco factories...

As war rages, everyone has to do their bit...

Bristol. 1941

As the clouds of war grow bleaker both at home and abroad, the Tobacco Girls are determined to do their bit for King and Country. To that end Maisie Miles and Bridget Milligan become voluntary ambulance drivers.

As well as coping with the frequent air raids, Maisie is kept on her toes with three new junior employees one of whom is particularly testing.

Bridget's heart becomes torn between family loyalty and American tobacco tycoon Lyndon O'Neill III, the man she loves.

Meanwhile Phyllis Harvey has joined the WAAF, opting to serve overseas whilst trying to escape her past. Her letters home are upbeat and her friends are initially envious of descriptions of sunshine and blue sea. The truth she hides is that life on the island of Malta is fraught with extreme food shortages, daily air raids and the fear that tomorrow might never come.

The future appears far less certain as the reality of war bites into The Tobacco Girls' lives.

An atmospheric historical saga following the lives and loves of those who work in Bristol's famous Tobacco Factory.

Perfect for fans of Rosie Clarke, Fenella J Miller and Tracy Baines.

Have you tried Lizzie Lane's other series – Coronation Close and the Orchard Cottage Hospital – you'll just love them!

What readers are saying about The Tobacco Factory series:

'Brilliant series. Oh my, the story of The Tobacco Girls gets better with each book.'- Reader Review

'A gripping saga and a storyline that will keep you hooked' - Rosie Goodwin

'Another brilliant story, as usual You can really get into all the individual characters. I love historical WW2 stories.' - Reader Review

'Great read. Yes another start to a great read and so pleased it's the first of the next few, Got them all waiting and ready' - Reader Review

'The Tobacco Girls is another heartwarming tale of love and friendship and a must-read for all saga fans.' - Jean Fullerton

'Really interesting facts, and great characters already. can't wait for the next book in the series. would highly reccomend this book.' - Reader Review

'Lizzie Lane opens the door to a past of factory girls, redolent with life-affirming friendship, drama, and choices that are as relevant today as they were then.' - Catrin Collier

'Thoroughly enjoyed the first book and cant wait to read how the 3 girls got on during and after the war. I really felt as if I lived in that era as the book had drawn me right in.' - Reader Review

'If you want an exciting, authentic historical saga then look no further than Lizzie Lane.' - Fenella J Miller

' A real page turner. This is an intriguing start to a new series. The characters are fully rounded and we are drawn into the darker side of life in Bristol during the first world war.' - Reader Review


Expand title description text